July 2017 | 3rd Issue
International Partners and APAO New Member Spotlight
In this Issue

In Memory of Prof. Akira Nakajima
Welcome Message
Spotlight on International Partner Societies
New Member Society Joining APAO 2018
Prof. Yasuo Tano Travel Grants
New Wet Lab Sessions at APAO 2018

In Memory of Prof. Akira Nakajima

A series of activities to honor the life of Prof. Akira Nakajima, former APAO President and our longest-serving Secretary-General, are being planned for the APAO 2018 Congress in Hong Kong. More details will be available in due course.

Click here to read the obituary and messages of remembrance for Prof. Nakajima.

Welcome Message from Scientific Program Committee Chair

38378da0-9f27-4fbf-8232-60aba50302c5.jpgDear Friends and Colleagues,

On behalf of the Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO) and the Scientific Program Committee, it is my honor and pleasure to invite you to the 2018 APAO Congress in Hong Kong, co-hosted by the Hong Kong Ophthalmological Society and the College of Ophthalmologists of Hong Kong.

With an anticipated number of over 1,000 leading experts from around the world speaking on all areas of ophthalmology and visual sciences, the APAO 2018 Congress provides an excellent showcase for world-renowned ophthalmic professionals to share their expertise and experience with clinicians, ophthalmic specialists, eye surgeons and researchers from the Asia-Pacific region and globally.

The Congress venue, Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, is located in the heart of the Central Business District. Hong Kong is a cosmopolitan and vibrant city with a unique multicultural heritage to discover, along with a wide range of tourist attractions and delicious gourmet offerings that make visiting this Pearl of the Orient worthwhile.

I wish you all a wonderful stay in Hong Kong and I look forward to seeing you in February 2018!

With best regards,

Dennis Lam
Chair, APAO 2018 Scientific Program Committee

Spotlight on International Partner Societies

This year, Congress organizers are pleased to partner with many international ophthalmic societies in curating an innovative scientific program. Our thanks to the following societies for their generous support of the 2018 APAO Congress in Hong Kong.


The Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis (AOI) is a university-centered international organization committed to excellence in education, research and medical services to preserve and restore vision.

Active membership in AOI is limited to 100 Chairs, who are formally nominated and elected by the membership to fill a specific Chair once it becomes vacant. An ophthalmologist who has been engaged in the study, research or practice of ophthalmology for at least 15 years and who has published not less than 100 scientific papers, reports or books is eligible to be nominated for membership. Currently, the AOI President is Dr. Gullapalli N. Rao, who is also an APAO Councilor-at-Large.

The Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) advances research worldwide into understanding the visual system and preventing, treating and curing its disorders.

With about 12,000 members from over 75 countries, ARVO is the largest and most respected eye and vision research organization in the world. Dr. Claude F. Burgoyne is the current president of the ARVO Board of Trustees.



The European Association for Vision and Eye Research (EVER) aims to encourage research and the dissemination of knowledge concerning the eye and vision by means of meetings, publications and exchange of information.

Covering all areas of ophthalmology and visual sciences, EVER is the leading ophthalmological research association in Europe, with more than 850 members from 48 countries. At present, the EVER President is Dr. Andrew Dick of Bristol.

New Member Society Joining the APAO Congress for the First Time

2ccf47d1-d027-46cb-81a9-7a249b489313.pngA total of 5 new APAO member societies will be sending official representatives to the APAO Congress for the first time at APAO 2018 in Hong Kong. In this issue, we feature the Iranian Society of Ophthalmology (IrSO), who has joined as a national member.

Currently, Dr. Mahmoud Jabbarvand Behrouz (pictured) is president of IrSO and Dr. Siamak Zarei-Ghanavati will serve as the society’s APAO Regional Secretary. Founded in 1947, IrSO now has more than 1800 members and 7 subspecialty societies including Cataract and Refractive Surgery, Vitreo-Retinal Diseases, Glaucoma, Orbit and Plastic Surgery, Strabismus, Pediatrics and Uveitis. The international IrSO Congress has been held annually since 1990.


Stay tuned for details of APAO’s 4 additional new member societies!

Applications for the 2018 Prof. Yasuo Tano Travel Grants for young ophthalmologists in the Asia-Pacific region to attend the 33rd APAO Congress are now being accepted. Priority will be given to ophthalmologists who are aged 40 or below, from a developing country and whose presentations (free paper, poster or video) have been accepted by the Scientific Program Committee of the 33rd APAO Congress. Each successful applicant will receive US$1000 if they live outside the host country or tariff region of the 33rd APAO Congress (i.e. Hong Kong) whereas those who live in the host country will receive US$300.

Interested young ophthalmologists should complete the application form available on the APAO Congress system by August 14, 2017. Selection results will be announced by the end of September 2017.

New Wet Lab Sessions at APAO 2018

Congress organizers are pleased to announce that wet lab surgical training sessions will be organized for the first time in an APAO Congress at APAO 2018. Such sessions may be scheduled on popular topics, including glaucoma, cornea, retina and more. Further details of wet labs and the scientific program at APAO 2018 will be available soon.


APAO Secretariat

APAO Headquarters
c/o APAO Office, State Key Laboratory (Ophthalmology)
Zhongshan Ophthalmic Center, Sun Yat-Sen University
1/F, No. 7 Jinsui Road,
Zhujiang New Town, Tianhe District
Guangzhou, Guangdong, P.R. China

APAO Secretariat (Hong Kong Office)

c/o Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences,
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Hong Kong Eye Hospital, 147K Argyle Street, Kowloon, Hong Kong

Tel: (852) 3943-5827
Fax: (852) 2715-9490

E-mail: secretariat@apaophth.org
Website: http://2018.apaophth.org/