New Member Society Joining the APAO Congress for the First Time: IrSO

A total of 5 new APAO member societies will be sending official representatives to the APAO Congress for the first time at APAO 2018 in Hong Kong. Today, we feature the Iranian Society of Ophthalmology (IrSO), who has joined as a national member.

Currently, Dr. Mahmoud Jabbarvand Behrouz (pictured) is president of IrSO and Dr. Siamak Zarei-Ghanavati will serve as the society’s APAO Regional Secretary. Founded in 1947, IrSO now has more than 1800 members and 7 subspecialty societies including Cataract and Refractive Surgery, Vitreo-Retinal Diseases, Glaucoma, Orbit and Plastic Surgery, Strabismus, Pediatrics and Uveitis. The international IrSO Congress has been held annually since 1990.



Stay tuned for details of APAO’s 4 additional new member societies!